barcelona

barcelona barceloneta

I went anyway, despite my limp, and rented a bicycle to get around.

Barcelona is ideal for cyclists: there are bike lanes on all the main avenues and on a lot of the cross streets, and drivers are so very courteous and kind to temporarily lame tourists on bikes. Flying downhill toward the beach, sitting in the sand, watching the sea, it did me good, and so did the Spaniards and everyone else from all over the world. Everyone I met was so friendly! I only came across a few grumpy people all weekend and what do you know? They were, without exception, Italian!

On Sunday morning, in the slightest mist of almost rain, I watched the marathon and cheered and cheered until my throat was hoarse and my hands hurt from all the clapping. There was an older man across from me, shouting “Venga! Venga!” for over an hour and I loved him a little bit.

It rained harder near the end, or what would have been the end for me, but it would have been a good race. Oh well. There will be Venice, in the fall.

P.S. Note to the Paul Rudd look-alike on my flight back to Venice today – sorry for staring! I’m glad I never mustered the courage to ask if your name was Paul on my way to the restroom or, earlier, when we were still in Barcelona, to shout, “PAUL!” in the security line, just to see if you’d turn when I did, because I’ve since decided it wasn’t actually you, just some guy who looks exactly like you, only slightly older. (Yes, Paul, I always knew you were that short.)

barcelona view from my balcony

About Jennifer

I'm a freelance translator and American expat. I live in Northern Italy with my two young sons.
This entry was posted in picture taking, running, something beautiful, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to barcelona

  1. Gilla says:

    I figured that the ‘Grumpy people” would turn out to be Americans! Glad the trip turned out to be a good experience for you.

  2. Glad you had such a nice time.

  3. Mauryn says:

    Now I love that man, too.

  4. Chris says:

    I’m both happy for you and envious of you. Sounds like you’re trip was just what you needed. Funny how that worked out.

  5. Annemarie says:

    love this!

  6. Aunt Patti says:

    The photos are breathtaking! Is the first one taken at sunset or sunrise? The light and shadows are so beautiful!

    • Jennifer says:

      Thanks! It was my first evening there when I took the one of the sculpture at Barceloneta beach.

      The other was in the morning, from the place where I stayed.

Leave a comment