men’s lib

This weekend Seven wanted to know why his Italian grandfather only knows how to cook two or three things.

Never one to let an opportunity like that pass me by, this is what I came up with: “It used to be that most men didn’t know how to cook. They were like babies, even though they were grown up. First their mothers cooked for them, and then they got married and their wives cooked for them. So Nonno didn’t learn how to cook until after his wife died. Wouldn’t that be terrible? To be all grown up but not able to take care of yourself? Luckily, though, it’s not like that anymore. Men can take care of themselves now. They are emancipated. They can cook, they can do their own grocery shopping and their own laundry. Think about it: wouldn’t it be terrible if you grew up but were still like a baby?”

“Yes.”

“Good. Now help me set the table.”

About Jennifer

I'm a freelance translator and American expat. I live in Northern Italy with my two young sons.
This entry was posted in The boys. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to men’s lib

  1. oldmdgirl says:

    You rule.

  2. Hilary says:

    I second that! As a mother of 2 daughters, I thank you for reducing the future mammone dating pool!

  3. sullimaybe says:

    Men are emancipated.
    Heh.

  4. Annemarie says:

    Perfecto!

  5. Amy from TX says:

    Love it! šŸ™‚

  6. meredith says:

    Thank you for raising the kind of boys that I hope my girls will marry!

  7. Aunt Patti says:

    Excellent!!!!! They have to get started young or it’s all over!

Leave a Reply

