elliot’s oak

This is an oak tree near where we spent our summer with my parents. I just booked our tickets for Christmas with them, but we won’t be going to Maryland this year. We will all be out in Arizona for the holidays! And the trees will look very different.

The weather has changed here and it’s rainy and grey, and as much as I love the seasons (and I do!) I am looking forward to a sunny Christmas with long runs and longer bike rides with my Pop-pop. And palm trees and cacti! And the zoo in Tempe, and the Children’s Museum in Phoenix. And too-short days with my family.

This is always the time of year when I miss them the most.

About Jennifer

I'm a freelance translator and American expat. I live in Northern Italy with my two young sons.
This entry was posted in nostalgia, picture taking, trees i have loved. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to elliot’s oak

  1. anno says:

    Great picture, Jennifer! I love the contrast of the green tree looming over the red barns, the irregular organic shapes against the straight lines of the manmade structures — beautifully composed.

  2. Sydney Engle says:

    As soon as I saw the picture, I thought “It looks like Clarksville not Italy”. It is a beautiful picture, Where were you?

Leave a comment