fracture

After all that, it turns out I broke my foot. Ha. The hairline stress fracture will heal with more therapy, more patience and a series of injections. And hopefully sometime in April I will be able to start running again. I miss it. But not so much now that I am despondent. I miss it like a good friend I haven’t seen in awhile but whom I know will be there when I am healed enough to come back.

About Jennifer

I'm a freelance translator and American expat. I live in Northern Italy with my two young sons.
This entry was posted in like anyone cares, running. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to fracture

  1. Jill says:

    Poor you! I am sorry for the fracture but thankfully it will heal definitively and you will be back in your running shoes soon! XO

  2. Sara says:

    Aw, man – That’s annoying! You know, when you mentioned the fact that you would not be able run for awhile, I typed up a long response about how when I was a sophomore in High School, I got a stress fracture during volleyball season and how it prevented me from running or jumping – which meant I learned to be a “setter” instead of an “outside hitter”. But then I didn’t post it for some reason. I kind of wish I would have now. Maybe it would have pointed you towards the real reason for your pain! Well, sorry about that. 😉 Here’s hoping it will still heal quickly. You’ve been doing everything right to let either type of injury heal, it’s just a bummer that now it’s going to take longer…

    • Jennifer says:

      Thanks for posting it this time, Sara.

      My thinking is that this nice long break will serve me well when I start training for my next first marathon: Venice 🙂

  3. Gilla says:

    Sorry about the break, but at least you know what it is and will be able to treat it accordingly. Good luck!

Leave a comment