running again

There is a predictable pattern to this blog and, I suppose, my days: whenever I am not running as much as I’d like to be, I start complaining about other aspects of my life. I am so tired, wah! Work is so hard, parenting is so thankless, wahhh! Nobody loves me, WAHHH! It’s kind of like PMS. Actually, it’s exactly like PMS: I even feel fat and unattractive.

But now that I am back to running, I can stop feeling sorry for myself and write about running again. Click away if that’s not what you came here for, no hard feelings.

My Aunt Patti asked me about upcoming races and running in the comments to another post, so here we go (Hi, Aunt Patti! I am so sorry about your toe.)

First things first: I had a check-up today at the hospital, including x-rays. The break has healed under the plate and the bone has hardened. Most of the pain is gone but I still cannot move my arm very well. Today the doctor asked me to raise both my arms and I held them as high as I could. I was hoping for a “Good” but instead got a clearing of the throat and “Continue with the physical therapy.” He made no mention of the physical therapist’s tape on my shoulder to relieve some of the stress of running and I certainly wasn’t about to bring it up.

I have been gradually ramping up my runs. Ok, so maybe it hasn’t been so gradual. Regardless, I am still nowhere near where I was the day before I fell and broke my arm. My training was just about to start peaking then! I felt fantastic! Not so much now.

On the bright side, my first week back, i.e. last week, I managed about 35 miles and this week I will hit at least 40, which is about my usual. Today I ran 10 miles without any pain (or Ibruprofen!) and Sunday morning I will attempt a half marathon that I had signed up for in January.

Originally I’d had high hopes for this race, but they have been significantly downsized to aspiring to a fairly painless finish in as far under two hours as possible. It is kind of a test.

If it goes well, I’ll run the Rome marathon. If it doesn’t, who am I kidding?, we all know I’ll run the Rome marathon anyway.

About Jennifer

I'm a freelance translator and American expat. I live in Northern Italy with my two young sons.
This entry was posted in running. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to running again

  1. Gil says:

    Besides your sons you have this ancient guy in the US that thinks you will do a good job running. The best to you and your boys.

  2. Aunt Patti says:

    Thanks for the mention, Jennifer! So glad you’re back to running and still dreaming big about the Rome marathon. Looking forward to the day I get my x-ray and can get back to my step classes & walking during my lunch hour. Your blogs of running and training give me hope that day is actually going to come. I appreciate living vicariously through you!

Leave a Reply

