happy thanksgiving

I was going to pretend it wasn’t Thanksgiving today but as we rode our bikes to school, in a little line, Nine leading the way, followed by Five (almost Six), with me bringing up the rear, they were so freaking cute the gratitude came over me all on its own.

I have loved their every age, and now I love being a mom to big boys despite missing their little boy faces, their little boy grins. Five still has his, and I miss it already, knowing how soon it will be gone.

I try to practice gratitude every day of my life, and every day I am grateful for my boys and all the richness that the mingling of their lives with mine has given me. Some days the gratitude comes more easily than others (heh, heh) and it comes easiest when I look at old pictures of them (how soon our minds cloud over the harder bits of our past and highlight the best parts!).

This is what they were like four and a half years ago:

DSC_0006

DSC_0025

Ooh those faces! How I got so lucky I do not know.

Happy Thanksgiving! May the gratitude come just as easily to you and yours.

About Jennifer

I'm a freelance translator and American expat. I live in Northern Italy with my two young sons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to happy thanksgiving

  1. I Say Oui says:

    My mentor kept a gratitude journal. She seemed like a pretty happy person.

    Happy Thanksgiving!

  2. Annemarie Heckert says:

    It’s truly this time of year when I miss you most of all! Call me when you can! MWAH!

  3. Aunt Patti says:

    I can’t imagine a Thanksgiving without your special order turkey and all the Italian trimmings! Did you have a celebration this year?

    • Jennifer says:

      We didn’t! It just got to be too busy with Five turning Six the same weekend and I was organizing the Thanksgiving celebration at the boys’ school. I am invited to a turkey dinner on Saturday with all-Italian friends who ran the Turkey Trot. There will be close to 50 people with all the winners contributing their turkeys. I am looking forward to that.

      Hope you guys had a nice Thanksgiving!

      • Aunt Patti says:

        I can’t believe Five just turned Six. The time is flying by way too quickly.

        Our Thanksgiving was nice and relaxing. Thanks for the well wishes! Looking forward to reading about the Turkey Trot post-Thanksgiving celebration!

Leave a Reply

