one of the countless joys of motherhood

I eagerly wait for Five outside his school and I know that his smile for some reason will be brighter and his little face even more endearing than I remembered.

He drops his backpack at my feet and the litany of complaints begins.

Today I asked, “Before complaining why don’t you first say ‘Hi Mommy, I’m happy to see you’?”

“Because I not.”

About Jennifer

I'm a freelance translator and American expat. I live in Northern Italy with my two young sons.
This entry was posted in The boys. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to one of the countless joys of motherhood

  1. Gil says:

    Ouch! That must have hurt. Hoping you got a reasonable explanation and all is good berween you two now.

  2. sullimaybe says:

    Teachers and classmates are recipients of Five’s charm, Mom is the safe receptacle for glum.
    Compliment❤

  3. Jennifer says:

    It is so much nicer if I think of it that way. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

