october

Yesterday morning, before I opened my eyes and it was still dark enough outside to not know what the sky was like, I assumed it would be another beautiful, sunny day, like most of the days before, but soon I saw that it was dull and rainy on the first day of October, and I thought of that poem by Robert Frost about nature slowing down before it climbs into its cozy winter bed, and the poem invites us to slow down too.

Today, though, it is sunny again with bright blue skies, the perfect backdrop for shimmering leaves about to turn.

We haven’t had an October like this since the year I was pregnant with Five, when my firstborn son and I spent every afternoon at the park. I didn’t know it at the time, but life was slower then. (You never know it at the time.)

All summer he had asked when his baby brother would be born and I had told him it would happen when the leaves had fallen from the trees. One day, we were sitting on a wooden bench outside the small nature reserve by our house. A leaf flitted down from above us, swirling and curling as it fell. He gasped and our eyes met. It was magic.

October
By Robert Frost
O hushed October morning mild,
Thy leaves have ripened to the fall;
Tomorrow’s wind, if it be wild,
Should waste them all.
The crows above the forest call;
Tomorrow they may form and go.
O hushed October morning mild,
Begin the hours of this day slow.
Make the day seem to us less brief.
Hearts not averse to being beguiled,
Beguile us in the way you know.
Release one leaf at break of day;
At noon release another leaf;
One from our trees, one far away.
Retard the sun with gentle mist;
Enchant the land with amethyst.
Slow, slow!
For the grapes’ sake, if they were all,
Whose leaves already are burnt with frost,
Whose clustered fruit must else be lost—
For the grapes’ sake along the wall.

About Jennifer

I'm a freelance translator and American expat. I live in Northern Italy with my two young sons.
This entry was posted in nostalgia, something beautiful, The boys. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to october

  1. Gil says:

    I would have loved to seen the looks on your faves while that leave was falling to the ground. That is one of the magical moments in life one never forgets. Beautiful introduction to a great time of the year. Too bad snow and ice come next.

  2. Mary Ann says:

    Lovely!

  3. I Say Oui says:

    What a sweet memory.

Leave a Reply

