As the years goes by time picks up speed. It is almost the end of the school year already and I am buried under endless translations. I hate this time of year. I say this every year (sorry) but I do. I do! It could be such a wonderful time of year, Spring! Warm weather! Happy children! The park! Long bike rides! And instead it is the time of year when, even if could work around the clock, it would still not be enough. My clients would still want more. More! More! MORE! I hate this time of year.

There are school plays and parties and all sorts of fun things my kids want to do, and I want to enjoy these things, damnit! I don’t want to answer my kids’ requests to paint or bake something or go somewhere or do something with panic in my voice and guilt in my eyes.

I have been skipping runs in order to catch up on work. My housekeeping has gotten so bad that I avert my eyes in particular areas of our apartment. I am in dire need of a shower and I don’t remember the last time I took the time to wash my face. Yesterday, out of desperation, I called the hairdresser and begged her to fit me in for a VERY QUICK haircut today. Hopefully it will be quick; otherwise I’ll be late for parent/teacher conferences.

About Jennifer

I'm a freelance translator and American expat. I live in Northern Italy with my two young sons.
This entry was posted in like anyone cares, The boys. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to

  1. Gil says:

    Good luck. I’m sure that you will come out on top of all of this in a good and healthy mood.

  2. Jadie says:

    So sorry your life is feeling so crowded these days. That eternal struggle between attending to your livelihood and the realities of home/children plays out just as frustratingly for everyone, sad to say. May it soon ebb!

Leave a Reply

