one day at a time

Not long ago, a friend mentioned that she was ready to be the mother of big kids. Yes, I thought. She had expressed my feelings exactly.

Two days ago another friend of mine complained that her children were growing up too quickly and she felt sad they weren’t little anymore. I rarely have that feeling, but then I rarely feel sad about getting older myself: every day, every month, every year seems like progress, and when I see the growth in my boys, it’s even more exciting.

Five and Nine were beautiful, sweet, wonderful babies and I am so glad they are not babies anymore. Babies are very time consuming and we are ready for other endeavors, except maybe for Nine.

Of the three of us, Nine is the most prone to bouts of nostalgia. He sometimes feels a little blue and says he misses “the way things used to be” (his words) when he was in preschool and had his “vecchia squadra di amici” (old team of friends).

I give him a hug and advise him to hold on tight to those memories. I consider myself lucky to know that feeling – I have it about the lake where I spent my summers as a kid – and I hope one day he will realize what an invaluable gift it is to have fond memories of childhood, and I hope he will also see how great it is to grow up.

And for your children to grow up too!

About Jennifer

I'm a freelance translator and American expat. I live in Northern Italy with my two young sons.
This entry was posted in The boys. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to one day at a time

  1. omdg says:

    I agree. I love watching my daughter grow up. Each stage bring new and different joys and challenges, and she becomes more wonderful by the day. I have little nostalgia for when she was a baby.

  2. I Say Oui says:

    Aw, Nine sounds very sensitive. 🙂

  3. Simplyjen says:

    I used to read your blog. It was a joy to read about Nine growing up. He was a delightful toddler and very sweet too. Now, he seem like a really sensible boy. You are lucky to have 2 great kids:)

  4. Jennifer says:

    Aw, thank you so much!

  5. meredith says:

    I really do love having two teenage girls in the house, it’s fun…almost all the time 🙂 Each age is golden!

    • Jennifer says:

      Hi Meredith! It is so good to hear from you. I miss reading your blog. How are you???

      • meredith says:

        Salut Jennifer!
        I am fine, thanks for asking. Working full time in a job where I do a lot of writing and letting the blog go…for awhile, anyway. I can’t believe Nine is nine already, time flies for sure. Let me know if you are ever passing through my neighborhood. I would love to share a rosé…I’ll do the same, though it’s USA this summer for us, too.

Leave a Reply

