get over it already

And then it was already spring.

And has been for awhile. There were daffodils at the park two weeks ago and already it smelled like spring the day we got back from our last ski trip. As soon as we rolled into town, down came the windows and in blew that familiar scent of grass and dirt and, there was no denying it, spring. Damnit! I wasn’t ready for the winter to end; it is so much more conducive to feeling sorry for oneself and I still have some more of that do to.

There is nothing really I can complain about, besides persistent tendinitis. In the grand scheme of things I am very, very fortunate. I have a job I enjoy that pays the rent. My family loves me and I love them. My children are healthy and happy and likeable. Our life is good and easy.

Why I wish I could crawl under a rock for a year or ten is beyond me. I am not ready for sunshine and daffodils. Where is the rain? The cold? Why does the fog burn off so early in the morning?

GAH! I want to shake myself. What is wrong with you? OPEN YOUR EYES! Look around! The world is a marvelous place, filled with beautiful things, peopled with wonderful people!

Can’t you see it?

(Yes!)

(And no!)

GAH! I have no patience for people like me.

About Jennifer

I'm a freelance translator and American expat. I live in Northern Italy with my two young sons.
This entry was posted in like anyone cares. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to get over it already

  1. Gil says:

    I wish I could ship you some bad weather. On a serious note, I hope that you get over your tendinitis soon!

  2. Jennifer says:

    Ha! Thanks! I hope it goes away soon too. I am getting antsy…

Leave a Reply

