the time, it flies

Oh dear. Has it been a month? (It has.)

There is not much to report, or there are so many small things that I lose track of them all. I tell myself to write them down for posterity but as soon as I am on to the next thing, I have already forgotten.

I haven’t been running because of tendinitis (same foot) and I am a little out of sorts. Not running means I have more time for work and reading and swimming but I miss it like I might miss someone I love. There is an emptiness to my days, and nothing to fill it but the knowledge that this, too, will heal, and eventually I will be back again training for something, hopefully this spring.

One thing that is good are my boys. The night before Valentine’s Day, when I was snugging with Five before bed, he asked me if we could innamorarci for Valentine’s Day, i.e., fall in love. I said of course we could! Eight got up very early and silently left a handmade card for me by my bed to discover when I woke up, and I surprised them with heart-shaped waffles for breakfast, which of course we have now had most mornings since.

After months of pancakes or waffles and maple syrup nearly every morning, our apartment has now taken on the fragrance of the Saturday mornings of my childhood. If I close my eyes, I am six again.

About Jennifer

I'm a freelance translator and American expat. I live in Northern Italy with my two young sons.
This entry was posted in like anyone cares, something beautiful, The boys. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to the time, it flies

  1. Gil says:

    Three guesses what I’ll be begging my wife to make for breakfast tomorrow! Hope that this crazy Winter has been good to you other than not running.

  2. Chris says:

    I know exactly the smell your referring to and the image of dad over the stove cracking silly jokes.

Leave a Reply

