first marathon

Venice marathon san marco

It was good. It went so smoothly that, as much as I hate to say it, the event I’d trained so long for was anti-climactic. I had been so tense and nervous, and then when the day came, I took a bunch of Advil for my knee, which had been bothering me all week, and figured I’d just do my best.

I had to start at the very back because I had no previous marathon time to qualify me for one of the starting corrals up front. It felt like I was the last of the 8000 runners at the start, and that is because I almost was. Moving up took a lot of time, and I probably lost a few minutes at the back, but it meant I got to spend most of the race passing people, and that was kind of awesome.

I am so very, very happy. It was not as hard as I thought would be, except for the last 3-4 km and the 14 little bridges just before the finish. I hated every single one of them with every fiber in my thighs.

I did not nail my dream time, but I came pretty close: my real time was 3 hours, 32 minutes and 27 seconds. And now I am officially a maratoneta, and a very, very happy one at that.

Thanks so much to everyone who sent words of encouragement and support. Thank you, thank you! Thank you.

About Jennifer

I'm a freelance translator and American expat. I live in Northern Italy with my two young sons.
This entry was posted in running, something beautiful. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to first marathon

  1. Mary Ann Stafford says:

    Good job, knew you could do it!!

  2. Hilary says:

    I don’t know what your dream time was, but it sounds like you kicked some A!!! Bravissima!

  3. OMDG says:

    Congrats Jennifer! I hope you realize this, but you know you qualified for Boston, right? On your FIRST MARATHON. This is a really big deal. Are you going to do it? Since this race was in October, I think your time would be good for 2014 or 2015.

    • Jennifer says:

      I thought you might catch that. It was no coincidence that I referenced the qualifying time for Boston in my earlier post, not because I have plans to do Boston anytime soon, but because anything over 3h40 would have been disappointing since I was training for sub 3h30.

      I can’t do Boston because school is in session then and I prefer not to leave the boys for that long or take them out of school for that long either. It’s also way expensive when there are plenty of races in Europe on the weekends when they are with their dad.

      My trainer and I are talking about another marathon in December and then taking it easy so I can enjoy some skiing this winter. As for spring marathons, there are so many, my top picks being Paris and Trieste. But will see… no sense in getting ahead of ourselves when my legs are still a little tired from yesterday.

  4. rosa says:

    congratulations!

  5. Sara says:

    Congratulations! So happy to hear that it went well. 🙂

  6. meredith says:

    Felicitations! Paris, Paris, run in Paris!

  7. Jadie says:

    Absolutely marvelous, congratulations. You SO deserve this..

  8. Mary Ann Stafford says:

    So happy for you never a doubt!

Leave a Reply

