delicious

The linden trees and honeysuckle are in full bloom; their fragrance is inebriating. You step outside, walk down the street, and the air is thick and sweet.

I rode my bike home one evening late, under the wisp of a silver moon, through the illuminated park, holding my skirt together in one hand. The dark, bright sky was everywhere, dripping with linden and honeysuckle. The first cicadas tentatively celebrated. Summer! Summer! At long last!

It was one of those magical moments I almost wish I could bottle up to keep forever, but of course the magic is that you can’t. They are fleeting and perfect, perfect because they are fleeting.

About Jennifer

I'm a freelance translator and American expat. I live in Northern Italy with my two young sons.
This entry was posted in something beautiful. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to delicious

  1. L says:

    This made me wish I was there. You have a beautiful way of seeing the world.

  2. barbedwords says:

    You have a different view of summer to me – I’m sitting here in Rome, sweating profusely and looking forward to autumn!

Leave a Reply

