not a ragazza anymore

It seems to be the general consensus among the people I know that when someone calls you “Signora” this is not good because it implies you have reached a certain age: you have grown up.

As much as I enjoy it when people assume I am younger than I really am, and I fondly remember the way my skin used to be before it started to sag, I don’t actually mind being called “Signora”. As far as I can tell, respect like that seems to be one of the main benefits of growing up. Signora status is a badge that I have earned.

Today I am thirty-five and inside myself that’s just about exactly the age I feel. Thirty-five with hair that curls at the nape of my neck! What else could a girl woman ask for?

Here’s what thirty-five looks like on me in the morning, with no make-up and unwashed hair:

LP 070

Could be worse, is what I say.

About Jennifer

I'm a freelance translator and American expat. I live in Northern Italy with my two young sons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to not a ragazza anymore

  1. Lorraine says:

    Happy Birthday! Bonne Fete from Canada.
    No make up and looking that good?…..beautiful in any language!!
    Enjoy your day
    Lorraine

  2. Lisa says:

    No wonder you like 35- you look beautiful! And I agree, feeling respected is a great thing.

  3. Jennifer says:

    Thank you! Thank you!

  4. Aunt Patti says:

    No way!!!!!! You’re really 35? That means we first met over 33 years ago. It can’t be!!!!! You look absolutely beautiful. Happy birthday!!!!!

  5. Susann says:

    Congratulations and you are very beautiful. I like your hair and it looks like its a good cut for all your sporting adventures. Gee I need to get out there running again. My favorite trail is currently flooded though. I hope you get to celebrate today! Wishing you health and happyness for many years to come!

  6. Sara says:

    Happy Birthday!!! I hope you’re having a great day. I’m 42 and still feel like I’m 30. Is that bad? 😉 But seriously, I’m really making a conscious effort to embrace my age and my wrinkles. The other day when my daughter noticed the wrinkles around my eyes, I told her it means that I’ve lived a really happy life and smiled a lot – and that’s what made the wrinkles. There’s no reason to be ashamed of them, right?! 🙂

  7. meredith says:

    Bon anniversaire Madame 🙂

  8. meredith says:

    ps Tu es magnifique!

  9. Jennifer says:

    Now I know where to go fishing for compliments!!! 🙂

  10. k_sam says:

    Happy Birthday! 35 looks great on you!

  11. barbedwords says:

    Buon Compleanno Signora!

  12. Mauryn says:

    Beautiful…at any age! Cute curls!!

  13. Annemarie says:

    Happy birthday!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  14. oldmdgirl says:

    Happy Birthday! You don’t look a day over 26.

  15. Gilla says:

    Hope that you had a very Happy Birthday! Don’t worry you aren’t really getting old….

  16. Simplyjen says:

    You are looking fabulous! Happy Birthday to you. I think thirties is a great decade to be in. Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

