counting the days

There are seven more days of school, not counting today, and we are all looking forward to the end of the year. Like the Christmas holidays, this is always a very busy time of year. Between end-of-the-year plays and parties and birthdays it gets to be a little overwhelming for me. Was it like this when I was a kid? I can’t remember. But then I wasn’t the one responsible for putting together a costume or preparing food for the party. Then it was all about the excitement of the year being over. The start of summer!

Yesterday afternoon Four had his party/pageant marking the end of the school year and Eight’s school play will be on Monday. Friday is the end-of-the-school-year party for both of them. Saturday is a joint birthday party for four kids in Eight’s class. Alone, these things are very doable, but when I think about the costume preparation, food preparation and shopping for the birthday gifts that they entail, and which I have barely begun, the scope of the commitment expands somewhat. Already I am hoping that Eight doesn’t have too much homework for the weekend because Sunday I would like to just be able to relax with my kids. And maybe do … nothing.

I can always tell I am a little frazzled because I hear myself saying things to the boys like, “Could you please please please just this one time do what I ask the first time I ask it? Or the second? Or just eventually do it? Please? PLEASE?”

About Jennifer

I'm a freelance translator and American expat. I live in Northern Italy with my two young sons.
This entry was posted in The boys. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to counting the days

  1. sullimaybe says:

    May your summer be endless days staring at clouds, dreamily.

Leave a Reply

