let your heart be light

luce cortile

It’s winter now. The Christmas lights are up in town and suddenly the air is very cold. On mornings when the sky is clear we can see the mountains topped with snow.

The light in the afternoon is low and rosy above the river and spectacular above the hills where the sun sets orange. My town is so beautiful in every season.

This morning on the radio they were saying it might snow. It might. It feels like it could, and I wouldn’t mind so much. A little snow to go along with my Christmas music and my warm coffee would be kind of nice. I would watch the flakes land gently on the skylight above my head.

I had to turn the Christmas music off, though, because it was depressing me too much. I always forget how sad Christmas music can be, and then one day I will be listening to it while I work and my all-time favorite will come on, Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas, and I will want to cry. So it’s off now, but if it starts to snow, I’ll have to put it back on.

(Speaking of which, I recently learned that the original lyrics for that song were even sadder than the version Judy Garland sang. Get your tissues out:

Have yourself a merry little Christmas
It may be your last
Next year we may all be living in the past
Have yourself a merry little Christmas
Pop that champagne cork
Next year we may all be living in New York
No good times like the olden days
Happy golden days of yore
Faithful friends who were dear to us
Will be near to us no more
But at least we all will be together
If the Lord allows
From now on, we’ll have to muddle through somehow
So have yourself a merry little Christmas now.

A merry Christmas, indeed.)

About Jennifer

I'm a freelance translator and American expat. I live in Northern Italy with my two young sons.
This entry was posted in like anyone cares, nostalgia. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to let your heart be light

  1. Gil says:

    I learn something new just about every time I open a blog. Never knew how sad that song was originally. I’m hoping that you and your boys end up having a Very Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

