at long last

For those of you who thought this day would never come, I bring you:

my shelves.

I never gave up hope.

And Alberto eventually came through.

Now I need to think about replacing that lone light bulb, currently taped to the bottom shelf, with real lighting fixtures.

In the meantime, while I filled up my new shelves with all the dishes that had been packed into my bookshelves on the other side of the kitchen, I moved a few other things around.

My little ceramic wall hanging went up in the entrance to the pantry.

And this pretty print I bought from an artist in Nice went up in its place. It is a picture of the lovely little market we had visited the day before, and the print takes me right back to it.

This is the view of the living room from the kitchen. Alberto made me matching shelves for in there as well.

And the couch with a couple of the pillow covers I made this winter.

The To Do list is still long, and I am taking it slowly. But with each little step, it feels a little bit more like home.

About Jennifer

I'm a freelance translator and American expat. I live in Northern Italy with my two young sons.
This entry was posted in casa dolce casa, la domenica and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to at long last

  1. k_sam says:

    At long last!! It all looks very cosy. I was hoping for a picture of Alberto too – if I remember right, he was quite the handsome fellow. 😉

  2. Jennifer says:

    Oh yes, he is! When my friend who lives nearby heard he was installing the shelves, she came up to meet him and see!!! But I didn’t have the nerve to take a picture of him.

    In October I had asked for a few more things, and he says he will finish those for me too (next year? or 2014?) so maybe I will be able to take a picture of him then.

  3. Sydney Engle says:

    I think he was worth the wait. The shelves look beautiful! Yes, I think a picture of him is very appropriate. You could frame it and place it on one the shelves. Your place is looking cozy. Love the pillows.

  4. Katerina says:

    Absolutely lovely – it makes me want to sit and have a cup of tea in your kitchen!!

  5. Mauryn says:

    Hallelujah! I love it!

  6. meredith says:

    Your place looks great!

  7. Sara says:

    I agree – worth the wait! It’s looking very homey. 🙂

  8. ragazza says:

    Jealous! I love your kitchen canisters.

Leave a Reply

