even clutter looks pretty in the right light

Sometimes I just give up trying to tame the mess. I fill my bags up at the market but leave almost everything out on the counter and table so I can get back to my work right away. I’ve already found too many excuses to stay out just a little bit longer in the sun today! And even despite the clutter, when I am home, it doesn’t seem like I am missing out on such a beautiful day, the way the warm spring sun pours in through a window spalancata*.

And no one seems to mind – not the boys and especially not lazy Lou.

So I just tell myself the clutter is intentional, to make the place look quaint!

In the second picture you may have noticed my lovely new sewing table (!!!), which I bought Sunday at the antique market for 50 euros. It needs a little work (hence the yard of fabric thrown over top) but it was exactly what I was looking for: the right price and the right size and it even has a little drawer in front for my scissors and seam ripper. I put it in the corner of the kitchen that gets the best light. And one of these days I might get around to making a decent cover for my machine. But for now a piece of white linen thrown over top will have to do.

* In Italy you can say “wide open” in a single word.

About Jennifer

I'm a freelance translator and American expat. I live in Northern Italy with my two young sons.
This entry was posted in casa dolce casa, Lou, something beautiful. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to even clutter looks pretty in the right light

  1. Sydney Engle says:

    Jennifer, your place really looks nice! Thanks for the pics!

    big mama

  2. meredith says:

    Your technique works. Your place does look quaint 🙂

  3. Aunt Patti says:

    I am so jealous! It is pouring rain here and I have a cold. Oh, what I would give to be out in bright sunshine now! I swear Lou and our cat (Nikki) were separated at birth, although I think Nikki might weigh 30 pounds now.

    • Jennifer says:

      Lou is headed that way, if I am not careful. She is asleep in my lap right now and I swear she is a few pounds heavier than when we got her. I might need to put her on a diet, poor thing.

Leave a Reply

