horrid, but in a good way

Three has been home all week (again), this time with a stomach bug that he can’t seem to kick. This same season last year with him it was pretty much the same, only maybe it was worse because he didn’t sleep back then when he was sick, and I still had to work (this is my busy season) and I was so very tired.

This season I am still tired but he is older now and so far hasn’t succumbed to anything quite as serious as last year, so the first few days of his various illnesses haven’t been too bad – actually it is kind of sweet to have slow days at home with him – and after that the hardest parts for me are finding ways to get my work done during the day so I’m not up until three in the morning every night and not losing my patience so easily with him because I haven’t been swimming or running or slept more than four or five hours in days and he is a very strong-willed child. Sometimes a little too strong-willed.

Monday, the first day he was home this week, I was waiting for some work to arrive and finished up this bag for a friend. He was a good helper and often reminds me of the girl with the curl in the middle of her forehead from that poem. When he is good, he is very, very good. And when he is bad, watch out.

About Jennifer

I'm a freelance translator and American expat. I live in Northern Italy with my two young sons.
This entry was posted in Sewing, The boys. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to horrid, but in a good way

  1. Nur says:

    Little sweet poor thing ! My favorite 3 ) he has such a cute feet! I love photo , i love tour bag ) hope u Can have some rest! I know this feeling of beeing tired even first thing in the morning! Hopefully u will rest in summertime ) kisses
    Nur*

  2. Jadie says:

    Yes, thank goodness he’s a bit older, a tad more independent this year. And luckily for him, and for you, he’s an absolute darling angel-looking child. Some of my favorite moments of love for my older boy at that age were…when he was sound asleep!

  3. Annemarie says:

    Gosh, he looks like Chris! Those sweet baby cheeks!

Leave a Reply

