stronger than i thought

The boys recovered and were able to attend the Carnival party at school. Three went as Buzz Lightyear, just like last year. Six went as a ninja. And I did not get sick! (Burning the candle at both ends sure will make you feel like you might be coming down with something though.)

Yesterday I ran the Romeo & Juliet half marathon in Verona. They gave us all heart-shaped medals at the end. Awww.

Other than an assortment of running shoes and hot pink running outfits I don’t have any newfangled running equipment; I just run to run, and I time myself by the clock at home which I sometimes remember to check before I leave and again when I return. So I wasn’t sure exactly what my time would be. I was really hoping to finish in an hour and fifty minutes, but if I did it in under 2 hours that would have been okay too.

I could tell I was doing well by the other runners’ comments to each other as we went, but I felt only surprise and elation when, coming up on the 20 kilometer mark, I saw the time was only 1:41 and some odd seconds. And I still felt pretty good. So I broke out in as much of a sprint as I could muster and finished six seconds under 1:46.

Which of course means that next time I’ll be trying for under 1:45.

Nevermind. They posted our real times today, and it turns out I finished in 1:44:11. To be perfectly honest, I kind of wonder if it isn’t a mistake, but that doesn’t mean I won’t keep walking around a few feet off the ground and with a giant smile on my face.

About Jennifer

I'm a freelance translator and American expat. I live in Northern Italy with my two young sons.
This entry was posted in like anyone cares, running. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to stronger than i thought

  1. Nur says:

    Well done ! I am proud of you ! I am looking forward ti listen details )

  2. oldmdgirl says:

    That’s pretty fast! Nice work!

  3. Sara says:

    Congrats! That’s awesome!

  4. k_sam says:

    Wow, that is fantastic – good job!

  5. meredith says:

    You are an amazing inspiration!

  6. Marge says:

    Stronger than you thought, both physically and emotionally.

  7. Lisa says:

    Congrats! Yay strong woman!

  8. Annemarie says:

    YOU KICK ASS!

  9. Pingback: 1h36m48s | Still in Italy

Leave a Reply

