day five. and counting.

Yes, we are still home.

Three has no desire ever to return to school again. Why go back when you can watch “The Lion King” and “Cars 2” every single day while munching on bread and jam? Never mind the sticky crumbs all over the couch. Why bother even leaving the house at all?

I had our sitter watch them Wednesday morning so I could go out for much-needed groceries and an even more desperately-needed run. They called me from home while I was at the greengrocer’s. “When are you coming home? Get us some strawberries. And green apples, please. And then come home. RIGHT AWAY!”

Six really wanted to go to school today and he didn’t have a fever but he was looking and acting kind of, well, sickish still. I finally got him to confess: he didn’t feel completely well but he missed his friends and I had promised we’d get his Carnival costume after school as soon as he was well enough to go back. The Carnival party at school is tomorrow, so, after thinking it through he absolutely must go back today!

And although I would have loved to send them back and go to the pool and work quietly and at my preferred pace and do all the things I like to do on an ordinary weekday, I too was denying the obvious: either I am really, really tired after working until late and getting up during the night with sick boys for days on end or I am coming down with their flu.

(Shit.)

Of course, as part of the negotiations this morning, I promised Six we would go to get their costumes regardless of whether they went to school or not and I promised Three he could watch “The Lion King” one more time this morning as I race through finish a translation this morning, so we can be back from the costume store before lunchtime just in case I start coming down with a fever in the afternoon.

And I won’t even mention the half marathon I am all registered and ready to run on Sunday. But I might just need to catch up on my sleep. Yes, I am sure that it is what it is.

About Jennifer

I'm a freelance translator and American expat. I live in Northern Italy with my two young sons.
This entry was posted in like anyone cares, The boys, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to day five. and counting.

  1. Nur says:

    Dear ! İ hope U got back ur ordinary weekdays soon ! İ know very well what U mean ))) i miss to see U and boys ( and blue bogaboo front of School’s door)
    see U soon

  2. Lorriane says:

    Oh my! Sickie boys are one thing, but Mamas need to stay on their feet at all costs 😉
    I am sure they will take as good care of you as you have of them, if it comes to it. Take Vitamin C! There, now your Mom doesn’t have to tell you LOL
    Lorraine

  3. Sara says:

    Ugh. I hope you’re all able to make it back to full-strength soon!

  4. meredith says:

    Sending some healthy vibes your way.

Leave a Reply

