a willing prisoner

We’ve been housebound for a few days. We had already planned a quiet weekend and then Six reported he wasn’t feeling very well Saturday morning. We took his temperature and sure enough, he could be declared officially sick. Three started coming down with something similar – but Light – a few hours later.

When we woke up Sunday morning it was snowing, only flurries and it had melted by noon, the white rooftops though were pretty in the morning sun and it made another quiet day inside all the more welcome.

I was supposed to go to Milan today for a refresher course offered by my best client, but I had to cancel. When I mentioned calling our most trusted babysitter, Six said, “Please stay. I don’t want a babysitter.” I asked him why not and that sneaky boy said, “Only you take good care of me.” As he well knew it would, that decided it.

As much as I would have liked to see my client and the other translators who are there today, and as much as I know that later on this year, when I am totally out of the loop, I will wish I’d been there, and even though I already had my train tickets paid for and my outfit (city clothes!) all picked out, if I have to be honest, I don’t mind another day at home with the boys. They make good company.

Last night, as we were reading his favorite Thomas the Train books for the millionth time, and as Three was asking his endless questions about the trains, about the dull stories involving some tragic flaw but that nevertheless end well and about the illustrations, he peered a little closer at Excellent Emily who was pushing Trevor (a tractor) on a flatbed to the airport. “How Emily see?” he wanted to know, which was a very valid question. Trevor was blocking her view.

“I don’t know, maybe she knows the way very, very well.”

“No, … wait a minute …” He tapped his upper lip the way he does to show he’s thinking, then: “HO CAPIIIIIIIIITO! GPS!”

I almost died.

Six and Lou are forming a deep attachment and especially now that he lies so still on the couch or in his bed, she leaves her favorite spot in the very center of my bed to seek him out. I find him snuggled up on the new yellow couch and her perched on the back of it watching over him.

“I am so glad we have a cat,” I said to him.

“Me too,” he answered back. “Cats are much better than dogs. If you pet them, they just sit there and let you. A dog might jump around.”

He does Lou imitations that are almost scientific in their precision.

I have also been doing some sewing as I neglect the housework and pretend I had no plans to organize the abundance of clothes and toys in the boys’ rooms. We paint, we read, the boys watch movies as I sneak time on the computer.

Sometimes it’s just so nice to be stuck at home.

About Jennifer

I'm a freelance translator and American expat. I live in Northern Italy with my two young sons.
This entry was posted in la domenica, The boys. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to a willing prisoner

  1. Sydney Engle says:

    What a wonderful weekend! I remember those.

    big mama

  2. Aunt Patti says:

    It just goes to show that there’s nobody who can take care of a sick child more than mommy. Sometimes I wish mine was still around!

  3. Britt says:

    Love being stuck at home 🙂

Leave a Reply

