hold on to your hats

What’s this?

Why, it’s someone’s living room.

And it looks as if a grown-up lives here!

I am happy to say that we are beginning to accumulate furniture – and not all of it is from IKEA. It might be second hand from friends, but hey, there’s nothing wrong with baby steps.

The pillow is homemade with fabric I had on hand, which ended up going very nicely with the lovely yellow couch from a friend who has excellent grown-up taste and does not share my fear of color.

She and her couch have inspired me. More fun fabric has been ordered and is on the way from the United States right this very moment as I type. Oh yes, I have big plans for my grown-up living room.

And Mom, it’s not going to be all beige and brown! I’ve decided to embrace color and see what happens.

About Jennifer

I'm a freelance translator and American expat. I live in Northern Italy with my two young sons.
This entry was posted in casa dolce casa, Sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to hold on to your hats

  1. Sydney Engle says:

    Your sofas look very happy together! Your living room is really coming together. Fabulous!

    big mama

  2. Kathy from NJ says:

    Beautiful! And actually very green of you, used and vintage has become very popular in the US, much better than the new stuff made in China.

  3. meredith says:

    Can you come decorate my place? Your living room looks great!

  4. Simplyjen says:

    Love how the yellow couch coordinates beautifully with yr brown sofas & the white staircase!

  5. Lisa says:

    Really nice! Love the geometry of the whole room. Lots of straight lines and rectangles. Also like the leaves of the plant on the right.

  6. Aunt Patti says:

    Your living room looks like a home! I love the brightness! Kathy from NJ is right: vintage is huge in the U.S., so the room is appropriately American expat. Congratulations! You have come a very long way in a relatively short time. Hugs to all!

  7. nur says:

    my talented friend I decided dont need me for asking any advise for home interior!!!! it looks great ! ı noticed your sofa when we were leaving from your lovely evenıng ı wanted to say how beautıfull your sofa but then so much talkıng and sayıng goodbye then ı have forgetten !!!
    here your photo looks great ! complımentı a gusto )

  8. Sara says:

    It looks great! And the couch helps to add to the bright look – love the open, airy feel!

  9. Chris says:

    Whoa! Your place looks so much more alive than when you first showed pictures of the place. Good job! You deserve a pat on the shoulder, sister!

Leave a Reply

