conversations with (and about) my carpenter

Oh, how I’d love to have this apartment looking more like home. We put a few pictures up over the weekend and I spent an hour rearranging furniture on Sunday while the boys took a nap. A new (for me) couch is to arrive tomorrow and I had to make space for it. Time permitting, I might take some art I’ve been collecting to the framer’s for a quote this afternoon.

I’ve all but given up on ever finishing the kitchen.

I ordered some shelves for my kitchen and living room and the niche in the wall at the top of stairs to the bedrooms where a door used to be, but the kitchen shelves are what I need most direly. My good friend F. recommended the carpenter. “He does good work,” she said. “Also, he is cheap.” After that she smiled and added: “And just wait till you see him.”

This was way back in October or November and it took me about two weeks to get the guy on the phone. Each time I called his workshop, his father answered, and the carpenter was not there.

When I finally managed to get him to come over and measure, I asked him when they’d be ready; he gave me a funny look and said, “Didn’t F. tell you?”

“Tell me what?”

“About the time?”

“I was hoping to have them for a Christmas party in mid-December.”

And then he laughed at me.

I mentioned this exchange to F. sometime just before Christmas, after my party (which was fine even without the shelves). She recommended I go to the carpenter’s workshop and offer to sit and wait while he cut the shelves for me. Then sit and wait while he stained them.

“Sometimes that’s that only way,” she said, solemnly.

“But isn’t it kind of time-consuming to sit and wait there while he does it?”

“Yes, it is. But he does good work, you can’t beat his prices and he is hot. It’s worth it.”

I couldn’t argue with any of that. So I called again.

“I can’t do it now,” he said. “I am working on something for someone who has been waiting a year and a half and I can’t put it aside.”

“I understand. But please don’t tell me that. You’re scaring me now.”

He laughed and offered to do them in February. By the end of February.

“January’s almost over, anyway,” he said.

I’ll let you know how it goes.

About Jennifer

I'm a freelance translator and American expat. I live in Northern Italy with my two young sons.
This entry was posted in casa dolce casa, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to conversations with (and about) my carpenter

  1. Annemarie says:

    But, wait!! IS HE HOTTT???

  2. Annemarie says:

    (Said in a dreamy, far-away voice….) I love Aiden…

Leave a Reply

