goings on

The annual Christmas market at my kids’ school is in full swing and I am co-coordinator. We set everything up on Friday and today was the first day we opened. Big success! I am very pleased. This year I stitched up a few small linen/cotton shopping bags and pouches. I would have liked to bring in a few more (and to have sewn straighter seams), but considering my real job, other school-related commitments and having to renew my papers to stay in Italy, while my children keep getting sick, just having something to bring to market seemed like a small miracle.

Because I didn’t have enough going on, I took a two-day photography class this weekend. It was all about how expressive photography can be a form of therapy, which seemed too fitting for me to miss, plus my kids were going to be away for the weekend. How could I not sign up? The two full days of photography were pretty intense and I came out at the end in somewhat of a daze, but continue to think about some of the more unconventional ideas of the photographer who led the course, and wonder about what some of the other students had to say. I expect the effects of the two days will seep into other areas of my life as well.

I’m glad I took the course, but I am tired. I don’t think I sleep enough. And I doubt I could sleep much more than I do even if I had the time. But still, what I wouldn’t give to have all my Italian papers in order and approved, all my work for the rest of the month finished and submitted and all my clients happy, two healthy children sound asleep in their beds, the house clean and tidy, nothing on my calendar except for maybe dinner out with some friends, and a nice warm bed with fresh clean sheets to read a book in. Also, I wouldn’t mind getting my stolen bicycle back.

Instead, I just sent out invites to a holiday/housewarming party to be held at our new place next weekend.

But that gave us an excuse to put the Christmas tree up. Ah.

Nothing like the holidays to bring some cheer. Or force you to fake it. Whichever.

About Jennifer

I'm a freelance translator and American expat. I live in Northern Italy with my two young sons.
This entry was posted in like anyone cares. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to goings on

  1. grandpa says:

    Those are all wonderful things to wish for, even if they are just goals that might happen sometime in the distant future. Glad photography is working out so well for you. The pictures are breathless. Can’t wait to see the family in a couple of weeks. Hope you can catch up on some well deserved rest.

  2. k_sam says:

    Hey, fake it until you make it, right?! ;D

  3. meredith says:

    Well, when we invite people over, we actually clean the house. Should probably do that more often.

  4. Annemarie says:

    You don’t have to take a two-week vacation in Majorca (read sans kiddos, drink(s) in hand, by the crystal-clear-sparkling-waters, with a very attractive tender at the bar!) to have some cheer. (Don’t get me wrong. That *would be sweet. No?) Look for the “pause,” Jennie. You know, the moment when you are right there…when the boys are giggling, when you make the perfect pour, when you see your dad at the gate!… When you can simply pause and smile.

    (And if that doesn’t work, we’ll book the flight to Majorca!) 🙂

  5. Jadie says:

    During WWII, a public campaign poster was commissioned by the British government’s Ministry of Information, and put up across the country. It was meant to instill courage and resolve in the English people. The red and white posters had a crown at the top and beneath it, the motto: Keep Calm and Carry On. You, too, babe..

Leave a Reply

