three

He is a mischievous little boy, but so very happy. For his birthday, he had Italian cakes and juice and three little candles at school with his teacher and classmates, then another party at home with six and me, his father, his Italian grandfather and his aunt and three cousins. It was the first time we had all of them here and of course my boys were delighted.

I wish I could remember where I found the recipe for the cake. It was a baking site somewhere online and the cake was called “Chocolate Birthday Cake”. Italian bakeries make the most delicious cakes, but I always like to make our birthday cakes in the American style – tall and layered with icing and sprinkles. The kids sometimes find them too rich, and this one, omigod, this one was decadent, but I can’t help it. Nothing says your mamma loves you like a homemade birthday cake. And three loved it, and so did the Italians. And the next day it tasted even better.

About Jennifer

I'm a freelance translator and American expat. I live in Northern Italy with my two young sons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to three

  1. Jill says:

    Happy Birthday to Three! The cake looks (and sounds) amazing! xo

  2. Britt Lewis says:

    Happy birthday to my darling nephew!!! I will call you tomorrow. I’m working from home.

  3. oldmdgirl says:

    Happy Birthday 3! That cake sounds absolutely delicious. You’re making me hungry.

  4. Tanya says:

    He looks delighted to be 3, perfect birthday smile!!

  5. meredith says:

    Bon anniversaire Monsieur Trois!

Leave a Reply

