on running

I ran cross country for one season in high school and I liked it but I was too lazy to be much of an asset to the team. Since then, every once in awhile, I will start running again, but generally lose interest after a few months.

Then about four years ago I started running again. The first time I went I thought I was going to die. I was in terrible shape. After my first son was born, other than long walks with my friends, I got little to no exercise at all. But I found this blog and followed her advice. It works: 30 minutes every other day and run so slowly you could probably walk at a faster pace.

I quit for awhile when I was pregnant with my second son, and then started back up as soon as he turned three months old. Senior citizens would pass me on the running path, but I tried not to let that get me down. After a year or two I started setting small goals for myself: 5 km in 30 minutes. 10 km in an hour. 10 miles in 90 min.

This past weekend I ran 20 km in one hour and forty minutes and I still suspect I miscalculated the time because if I actually did cover that distance in such a short amount of time I have no idea how I did it.

A couple of people have asked me about running, and my advice is this: if you are thinking about taking it up, go for it! Check out the doctor mama blog, or at least her post on “how to start”. In a nutshell, she says you’ll need comfortable running shoes, a supportive bra (if applicable) and to stop making stupid excuses. 30 minutes is not a lot of time. Anyone can find 30 minutes to run!

So go! Run! NOW! You will thank me. (Maybe not the first couple times, you will more likely be cursing me then, but after that, you will be glad you did it.)

About Jennifer

I'm a freelance translator and American expat. I live in Northern Italy with my two young sons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to on running

  1. oldmdgirl says:

    Being able to run is what I miss most now that I’m in the third trimester.

  2. Jennifer says:

    I didn’t know you were having a baby!!!! (That’s how long I’ve neglected my usual blogroll)

    I am thrilled for you and Luca!

    You will get back to it, don’t worry. By the time spring rolls around again you will be ready to hit the road with your running stroller.

    • oldmdgirl says:

      Thanks! We’re both really excited about it. Only 6-9 weeks (or so) to go!

      Yes, let’s hope I’m able to get back to it. Now I see these thin young chickies running in my neighborhood (as I’m stopping to catch my breath just walking), and I am so jealous! 20K is very impressive, btw. No wonder you’ve been looking so fit! šŸ™‚

      Incidentally, I think the doctormama blog may have been how I found your blog so many years ago. Or maybe it was the other way around. Hard to believe we’ve been doing this that long!

  3. k_sam says:

    Wow, 20K, that’s fantastic! I hate running (bores me to tears), but I started training a few months ago because C loves running and it would mean a lot to him if we could run together. I followed the Couch to 5K program – it’s a program that promises to take you from no running to doing 5K in 30min in eight weeks, and it really does work. I’d highly recommend it to anyone who thinks running for 30min is impossible – it’s a great way to slowly increase your stamina in a manageable way. And I still hate running, but it makes C so happy (and it’s good for me of course), so we’ve been going at least once a week now.

  4. Annemarie says:

    You, Jennie, were never “too lazy” to be an asset to anything! If I recall correctly, you were highlighted in a cross-country pic from our high-school yearbook! Oh, and the 30 minutes thing is fine. The sneakers and the support bra are well and good, too. But if you could just tell me where I can find my Motivation?…I seem to have lost it somewhere between baby 1 and baby 3. I think it’s with my abs. Can’t find them either. šŸ™‚

  5. meredith says:

    20km is very impressive!! I keep thinking I want to run…I’ll check out that blog or the one ksam mentioned. There may be hope yet šŸ™‚

  6. Jill in Seattle says:

    Thanks you Jennifer for a great post! You really have motivated me to “get running”.. And I love the doctor mama blog! Nothing like just calling it like it is!

    A friend of mine who also found running to be a way of life bought me a copy of “no need for speed” by John “The Penguin” Bingham. He swears by it. Time to dust it off, get my ipod loaded up with some good tunes and just do it. Would love to know the list of your running tunes. Especially if there are some italian artists. I’m thinking Vasco Rosso might get me going!

    Hope your Italian Thanksgiving was extra special this year…. lots of new traditions with family and friends this holiday season. One holiday at a time… šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

