getting there

It doesn’t quite feel like home yet, but it’s getting there. Sort of.

I bought a couple plants, so that’s progress.

But the walls are still so bare, and I still need shelves in the kitchen. The doors to my wardrobe wouldn’t open under the slanting roof and so I took them off, and one entire wall in my bedroom is an open wardrobe. A friend sent her husband to help me hang the two lights I had for over our big kitchen table, only we didn’t have enough time to shorten the wires and so they still loop down over the table. Most of the time I don’t even notice because it is so nice to have light in the kitchen!

We went for a full month with the dimmest of dim light in there, despite the floor lamps I’d set up. It feels like a luxury now to be able to see what we are doing, especially since we spend so much time at the big kitchen table.

So I am trying to focus on the kitchen. I feel like if I can get the kitchen done then the rest will come together more easily. It is room we spend the most time in, and now, with the big table, we just leave all the art supplies and books and puzzles out – we just push then down to the other end in case we want to pick them up again later – and we can fit a tablecloth comfortably on our favorite end and eat there.

So yeah, not only are we living in an under-lighted, unfinished apartment, but my standards have slipped somewhat.

Like the other day, instead of folding laundry (or assembling the furniture for the boys’ rooms, which I still haven’t done) I made a tarte tatin , and there was a ton of dough left over, which my almost-three-year-old rolled out again and again for cut-out cookies, and the boys kept sneaking tastes. They barely ate their dinner after that, but managed to find room for the entire sheet full of the pie-crust cookies they’d made.

But hey. Cookies for dinner and, especially, the smell of pie crust baking in the oven make the place feel like home more than anything else, right?

The carpenter is supposed to come this afternoon to see about the long shelves I want for the kitchen and shorter matching shelves for above the armchair in the living room. (See the picture at the top)

Hopefully he won’t cancel again at the last minute and it won’t take him too long to install them for me. After that the walls won’t look quite so bare and I feel like I might have a better idea of where to go from there.

In the meantime, we’ll just keep baking cookies.

About Jennifer

I'm a freelance translator and American expat. I live in Northern Italy with my two young sons.
This entry was posted in casa dolce casa. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to getting there

  1. Stephanie says:

    mamma mia the boys are adorable. 6 is so handsome, and the youngest is just delectable with those cheeks!!

  2. Sydney Engle says:

    I love the pictures of the boys. James is definitely looking like a little boy and less like a baby every time I see a new picture of him. I like your new place! Love to you and the boys!
    Big Mama

Leave a Reply

