a good one

The most often used areas in the new apartment are my work space and the kitchen, and I can see the kitchen from my work space, which, for some reason, I find comforting. Both are very cozy without being teeny tiny the way some spaces tend to be in Europe.

I wish I had more time to fix things up. But then when I do have time, I lack focus.

A new flower shop opened on my street and they have had little buckets of tulips outside the window on the sidewalk for the past three days: white, yellow, and orange. This morning I could resist no longer.

I think I get now what people meant when they said to treat myself, to take it easy and not let the crumbs on the floor get to me.

Sitting at my desk, I see the breakfast dishes still out on the table and yesterday’s laundry strewn all over the couch in my office waiting to be folded. There is an unfinished quilt folded on the ironing board, which has also been left out in the kitchen since last week in the hope I might find half an hour to work on it. I still haven’t put away the milk and fruit and vegetables I bought in the shops this morning on my way home from school, but it is always such a pleasure to do my grocery shopping in the shops and we weren’t even running late this morning, so the boys and I had a nice leisurely walk to school.

When they woke up, six was thrilled that the tooth fairy had left him 2 euros in exchange for one of his top front teeth, and two announced it was raining! The skylights were covered in rain drops! LOOK! And I said rise and shine, let’s all get up, today is the first day of the rest of our lives. Let’s make it a good one.

And so far, it’s not bad at all. I managed to put my tulips in some water and sit down at my desk. I’ll do some work now and go for a run, despite the rain. And at some point I will remember to put the fresh milk away in my beautiful new fridge.

Hope your day is just as special.

About Jennifer

I'm a freelance translator and American expat. I live in Northern Italy with my two young sons.
This entry was posted in casa dolce casa, something beautiful, the neighborhood. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to a good one

  1. Hilary says:

    Beautiful! Your post and those tulips just brightened my day! p.s. Isn’t it great when you can enjoy the walk to school and you’re not rushing them out the door?

  2. Jill says:

    It’s the small things – like fresh flowers – that help us get through trying times. Cheers to your day starting off on a good note today! Love your office!! xo

  3. meredith says:

    Isn’t it great that you can walk to school! Je te souhaite une très belle journée, rain drops and all 🙂

  4. Sara says:

    I love tulips! I don’t know why, but they just make me smile. Glad to hear they’re making you smile today! 🙂

  5. k_sam says:

    Now that is a well-deserved bouquet of flowers if I’ve ever seen one!!

  6. Stephanie says:

    Knowing you Jen, I can tell from this post you’ve come a long way in such short a time. Bravissima. So yes, leave the dishes, and the laundry too – and that quilt! It’s good you’re taking time out to enjoy the moment. It’s so easy to lose focus and think about the past and the future all the time, but the time that really counts is the right now. Your post has made me rethink too, and not fuss about the state of my apartment, or that things aren’t turning out how I’d hoped with feeding Mila, but to look out the balcony and stare at the ocean view for a while. Next stop, the corner store to buy some flowers.

Leave a Reply

