flashback to 1997 – updated

I got my hair cut yesterday.

For nearly a year, since the second time I went to him, my hairdresser has been begging me to go very, very, very short, just like every single one of my stylists before him. They can’t help themselves: I have straight, fine hair, a round head and rarely a very clear idea of what I want my hair to look like. The urge to to chop it all off is too much for them, and at some point in our relationship, I usually relent.

Yesterday seemed as good a time as any to go very, very, very short again. It’s sort of an obligatory step in the post-break-up recovery, anyway, n’est-ce pas?

Like wearing a sign on my head that reads: I Am Moving On.

Except, in my case, the sign reads: I Am Going Back.

The hairstyle looked oddly familiar, but I didn’t give it much thought it until this afternoon, when I caught my reflection in the mirror and realized, with a laugh, that I look almost exactly like I did in college, minus the nose ring.

Ta-da!

As a special bonus, you also get to see my BATHROOM. Real classy. (It STILL has the plastic blue toilet seat by the way. Ha ha! My kids really like it.)

About Jennifer

I'm a freelance translator and American expat. I live in Northern Italy with my two young sons.
This entry was posted in like anyone cares, Separation anxiety. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to flashback to 1997 – updated

  1. Sara says:

    Aw, come on – I take issue with the category “like anyone cares”… πŸ˜‰

  2. Marge says:

    Where’s the picture?

  3. grandpa says:

    Same color as when you were in college?
    Grandpa

  4. Amy from TX says:

    Cute! Can’t wait to see the pic.

  5. meredith says:

    Really really short?

  6. k_sam says:

    I second the others – how you can post this and not post a pic?? πŸ˜‰

  7. rosemarie says:

    Brilliant, love it!! You look great and are doing great(er) … grammar is a bit off I know, pazienza….
    well done. Rosemarie

  8. Sydney Engle says:

    YOU look AWESOME!!

    Big Mama

  9. Helena says:

    It looks fab! And you could always put on the nose ring and really freak out the put together mamas on the school run πŸ˜‰

  10. Marge says:

    Thanks for the pic. You do look like you’re college age!

  11. Mauryn says:

    Yay for the pixie cut!! You look great…and now we look like sistahs! hahaha!

  12. oldmdgirl says:

    Your hairstylist was right — it’s a great cut for you. I like the color too — don’t go platinum!

  13. Lisa says:

    You look gorgeous!

  14. Kathy from NJ says:

    You look like a teen-ager – it’s fabulous!

  15. rosa says:

    wow! really great! you look like a kid!

  16. Lora says:

    Love your hair! It flatters your face. I liked it longer as well, but I really admire the courage to go pixie short!

  17. Sara says:

    Just scrolled down and saw the picture you posted. Love the haircut! Now, do you plan to add back the nose ring? πŸ˜‰

  18. Hilary says:

    Short hair suits you very well bella ragazza! I am a wimp at the hair dresser…I never allow them to go past the 2 fingers mark.

Leave a Reply

