life in the city

We live in the “city” now, or at least that’s what our friends say, although calling our town a city seems laughable to me.

What it really means is that we live downtown, and that denotes a completely different way of life, one which I have taken no time at all to get used to. It is beautiful here. I love this town. I love walking everywhere and I love being able to pop out for half an hour, just to see what is going on in the main square. I took the picture above Sunday evening, as the antique merchants were loading up at the end of the market day.

Living in town reminds me of when we lived in the mountains, and we walked into town everyday, went to all the little shops on foot, and enjoyed countless short, friendly exchanges with people on the street, most we knew, but some we didn’t, and the interaction added another, richer layer to everyday life, one that I missed after we moved, in the years when we lived on the outskirts of town and I drove everywhere in a soulless car.

Now I miss the quiet, the green, the smell of clean, fresh air, but I still go running there to get my fix of that and so, all in all, city life agrees with me.

About Jennifer

I'm a freelance translator and American expat. I live in Northern Italy with my two young sons.
This entry was posted in something beautiful. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to life in the city

  1. k_sam says:

    I’m making a trip to Italy (Cocconato) next week for work and I’ve been a bit nervous about it, having to drive in another country & dealing with another language, etc. I don’t know why, but this picture suddenly makes it seem less intimidating. I hope my little village looks like that too. đŸ™‚

  2. Jennifer says:

    I had to look up Cocconato on the map! After living nearly 5 years in Milan…

    It’s all very civilized up north, so you don’t need to worry. I wish you were coming closer to me. It would be fun to meet.

    • k_sam says:

      Ha, no worries, it’s a tiny little village in the middle of nowhere. If you don’t mind saying, what is your closest big city? I’d like to keep it in mind in case I get over this way in the future!!

  3. Sara says:

    Sounds wonderful! (I love your description of a “soulless car”.)

  4. Marge says:

    Beautiful picture. I’m so jealous.

  5. Kathy from NJ says:

    I just found out that my nephew Peter (junior in college) will probably spend his spring break 2012 in Italy (if he can get ROTC to pay for the trip). My niece Carrie, his sister, lives in Germany – she’s a nurse at Landstuhl Hospital – so hopefully she will be able to spend part of the week with him. He’s probably going to be in Rome for most of the time.

Leave a Reply

