back to work

So while I haven’t attempted to assemble those drawers, I have set up a make-shift office for myself in the kitchen, where the telephone/internet line is. Ideally, I will (very soon, hopefully) hook up the wireless modem I have in a box (one of the many) so that I will be able to work sitting down in my actual office around the corner, rather than standing up at the kitchen counter. But until then, this is it.

It feels great to be slowly getting back to a regular routine. My kids were both back in school today, for the first time since last week after having picked up some mild viral fever/cough/scratchy throat combination at school, first two-and-a-half, then six. But they are better now and their illness has been my convenient excuse for not having found the time to unpack most of the boxes before starting back to work.

So far I am only doing shortish things for a few clients, but it feels so, so good. I don’t know what it is, but there is something so incredibly satisfying about completing a project and sending it off and away and moving on to the next assignment.

Or maybe it’s just that I really hate unpacking.

About Jennifer

I'm a freelance translator and American expat. I live in Northern Italy with my two young sons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to back to work

  1. Sara says:

    LOL! I think I would be the opposite. I can find any reason at all not to do work! (Hmmm… maybe that means I’m in the wrong line of work…)

  2. Kathy from NJ says:

    Will you show us the entire kitchen? And will you be writing at all about Amanda Knox? I’d love to hear your views on the trial, etc.

  3. Suzanne says:

    I’d like to know what you think of Amanda Knox, too (I’m also a Washington Husky). I’d love to come help you unpack and put together too! It’s so much more fun to help someone else than do your own work…

  4. Jennifer says:

    The entire kitchen? It’s still not done yet. But I could probably put up some WIP shots.

    As for Amanda Knox, I don’t really know if I am qualified to write about that. I wasn’t there and only know what I read in the newspapers. I do believe there is some bias against her because of the way many American college students in Italy conduct themselves in public and how she allegedly handled herself at the police station immediately afterward, but I have no idea if she did it or not, and I don’t think either of those factors is any indication of her guilt/innocence. Someone else has pled guilty, but again in his case, he is from Africa and there is tremendous bias/discrimination against non-EU citizens here as well. So it’s very, very complicated.

    I don’t really know what else to say about it other than that I find the Italian press extremely biased against her and the US press extremely biased in her favor. Throw in all the cultural differences and misinterpretations and it’s a big mess. And of course I feel terribly for the victim’s family. I cannot even begin to imagine what that must be like for them, and for Amanda Knox’s family as well.

  5. Grandpa says:

    Kitchen looks great! You’ll be settled before you know it.
    Glad to hear the kids are back in school and life is gradually getting back to “normal”, whatever that means. Speak to you soon.
    Grandpa

Leave a Reply

