keeping busy

I started packing this weekend since the boys were away for a long weekend with their dad. We don’t move until October, but it kept me occupied and was a more pleasant alternative to attempting to work or sleep.

When packing became too dreary, I turned to the sewing machine and made a gift for a friend who has been especially good to me. (She even got me to come out with her and a group of friends Saturday night.)

I made her an apron. She teaches cooking classes and is one of the best cooks I know.

When I finished that and still didn’t feel like working, I started in on a quilt for a friend in Australia who is having a baby. A girl, in case you couldn’t tell from my choice of palette. I only finished nine blocks before deciding I must! absolutely! work on that really long translation due very soon, and then I very responsibly put all my fabric away and got to work.

But not before writing this post.

About Jennifer

I'm a freelance translator and American expat. I live in Northern Italy with my two young sons.
This entry was posted in Sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to keeping busy

  1. KD says:

    Beautiful! You’re very talented!!

  2. Britt Lewis says:

    Dang! You’re getting good! I especially love the one for Francesca.

  3. Stephanie says:

    It looks so beautiful and it will be so special because you made it for her.

    • Jennifer says:

      I hope you like it when it’s done! I wish I could have it already done and in the mail to you now so you’d have it before her arrival. Unfortunately, it’s going to be awhile. I had to pack some of my sewing stuff to make room for all the boxes. My goal is to get it to you by the end of the year. That way you’ll have it in time for the fall, when it starts to get cooler.

  4. Stephanie says:

    It’s perfect whenever it arrives. It’s coming into spring now here in Aus so no need for quilts until next April! xo

Leave a Reply

